Traveler's Guide

A passport with a minimum of six months remaining prior to expiration is required. Visitors who do not require visas pay a tourist card fee of US$5 at the airport and between US$5-8 at land and river immigration checkpoints depending on local and time of crossing. Visas are required for citizens of 20 countries: Cuba, Afghanistan, Libya, Iraq, Iran, China, Albania, Sri Lanka, North Korea, Nepal, Colombia, Jordan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Yugoslavia, Pakistan, India, Haiti, Somalia, Lebanon, Vietnam. If carrying a passport from one of the above mentioned countries one must apply for a visa. This procedure is best done in advance of visit. The requirements for visa applications and an updated list of nationalities that require one can be found on the web site of the Nicaraguan foreign ministry: